My Nautical Obsession

By just about anyone’s standards, I have a problem. I am OBSESSED with everything nautical; every starfish necklace, every striped tee with an anchor design, and every bright red accessory. Why? Because a nautical style is more than just a look, it brings to mind sandy beaches, lobster bakes, the smell of the salt air and the soft rush of an ocean tide. I’ve been very lucky to spend large chunks of my life breathing in crisp ocean air and feeling the sea breeze, and I have always loved history, tradition, and fashion. For me, and so many others, the nautical look combines happy memories and beautiful minimalist sensibility.  It is emblematic of a rich cultural heritage that will never go out of style.

Not convinced? Well allow me to persuade you, because one of the best reasons to try the nautical look this summer is that it is so darned economical! It looks lux, but just invest in a few basic pieces (most of which you can carry into your fall and winter wardrobe) and you are set for the summer. Allow me to demonstrate…

THe 12 items you can use to create 7 unique nautical looks

I was able to create a week’s worth of outfits from the following: two tops, one blazer, two bottoms, one dress, two pairs of shoes, and several accessories. Altogether there are 12 pieces which could fit in a single carry-on bag. Voila!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Although some of the pieces pinned in the gallery are fairly expensive ($90 for a T-shirt, even one from J.Crew, strikes me as a little unreasonable), I have compiled a list of both the original pieces and affordable alternatives from top to bottom, left to right: KORS Michael Kors Vivian espadrille wedges from Zappos (Talbots, DSW, Old Navy), Kate Spade New York Grove Court Tenley Bag at Piperlime (Nordstrom, DSW), Start with the Basics Circle Scarf at Modcloth (Gap), Olivia Strap Belt at Forever New (Banana Republic, Forever 21), Factory printed blouson tankdress at J. Crew Factory (Piperlime, Delia’s, Forever 21), Saint James® for J.Crew three-quarter sleeve tee (Forever 21), MICHAEL Michael Kors Mid-Rise skinny jeans in green at Harvey Nichols (The Limited, Gap), J. Crew Navy Stretch-wool twill blazer at net-a-porter (Banana Republic, The Limited), Sperry Top-Sider Audrey Slip-on Boat shoe in light peanut (Famous Footwear), Perfect chambray ex-boyfriend shirt in harvest wash at Madewell (Old Navy, Gap), J. Crew Bubble necklace – the green is now out of stock (J. Crew Factory, Etsy, Etsy), Jack Wills Hollingworth Chino in Vintage white (Talbots, Express).

Have you tried the nautical look? What’s your most beloved or versatile piece? Let me know in the comments section!

For more great nautical items I’m lusting after and outfit inspiration, check out my nautical board on Pinterest! Also, feel free to visit me on polyvore to dissect my nautical outfits piece by piece!.

Leave a Reply

