What I Wore: Walking the Walk

Yesterday I went nautical! I decided to walk the walk, and rather than simply creating a bunch of nautical looks on polyvore and sending them untested into the universe, I wore one of the outfits I presented in my last post.

I have many of the nautical items featured in, “My Nautical Obsession,” (and many more that were not even mentioned, I told you, I’m obsessed) but I don’t have all of them. However, I wanted to recreate piece by piece at least one of the looks from just what I could find in my wardrobe, no cheating! Personally… I think it was a success!

Be still my heart...

Be still my heart…

Although I lack any of those infamous J.Crew bubble necklaces, I do have an older necklace with mint stones that I chose as a substitute in my recreation of Look 7. The bubble necklace would have been bolder, and would more successfully balance the outfit if you’re planning to take the denim blouse off, but I think you can still get the idea.

Great for a day of shopping or dinner out, take the chambray layer off to immediately dress the outfit up by showing some skin!

Great for a day of shopping or dinner out, take the chambray layer off to immediately dress the outfit up by showing some skin!

I was missing one other piece as well; I have several red shoes and several espadrille sling-back peep-toe wedges, but no combination of the two! So instead I used a pair of bright red pointy-toe flats. Here is the complete look:

My shoes are from Express and so comfortable! The other items are from previous seasons- the dress, belt, and necklace are from Forever 21, my chambray blouse is from Talbots. Just check my last post for affordable alternatives.

What nautical outfits are you wearing this summer? Do you have a different go-to summer look altogether? Please let me know in the comment section, and feel free to visit our Pinterest page for more style ideas!

Leave a Reply

