Cosmetics: The perfect palette

I recently wrote about a good friend of mine who deeply influenced how I wear makeup, and really has a gift when it comes to cosmetics. Basically, she walks through life looking air-brushed. So when she endorses a specific product, I listen. A few weeks ago she went a step further, and gave me Sephora’s gorgeous “Moonshadow Baked Palette: In the Nude” for my birthday. Because of my fair coloring, I tend to avoid saturated tones and bright colors when doing my makeup, whereas she is able to pull off just about anything and prefers highly pigmented shadows that have been pressed multiple times. The palette she gave me was a happy medium between the two, while it consists primarily of natural tones that I feel comfortable wearing, the colors are very saturated and… sparkly!

Sephora Moonshadow Baked Palette: In the Nude

Sephora Moonshadow Baked Palette: In the Nude

I’ve been experimenting with application, but I know I’m only the scratching the surface of what I can do (honestly my work is a little sloppy). It would be easy with these shadows to have much more dramatic makeup, but it would probably not be daytime or work-appropriate.

Here’s one day when I played with application:

Here is another day:

In both photos I am wearing Benefit ‘They’re Real!’ Mascara and Revlon ColorStay Liquid Eye Pen. I have been told that I could have softened the harsh lines on my crease my softly swiping the made-up lids with a fluffy and clean makeup brush.

Do you have a favorite eyeshadow palette? For beauty tips and tricks, check out my Cosmetics Board on Pinterest!

One thought on “Cosmetics: The perfect palette

Leave a Reply

